Forum

Tubeless, Tire inse...

Tubeless, Tire inserts, DH Tires for New Mexico riding. What's Your setup?  

RSS

Curtis Gillen
(@curtis-gillen)
Member Admin
17/10/2018 1:40 am  

I have been running a tubeless setup on my mountain bikes for about 10 years now. You could say I was a late adapter of this incredible innovation. However, tubeless tires have changed my riding experience in a great way, and I'm sure you share the sentiment if you run them too. That being said, I have still managed to pinch flat tires over the years, sometimes making for a long day getting off a trail.

For example, last year riding South Boundary trail with a couple friends I ripped a hole in the sidewall of my rear tire about 6 miles from the end of the trail. No biggie, I guess. Booted the hole with some duct tape and inflated the tire. Long story short, I ended up having to stop several times to re inflate the tire and would have resorted to a tube had I remember to bring it...Got down just fine, but had to stop a lot and pump that tire back up. Also had a bad experience pinch flatting my tubeless tire(Specialized Grid Casing) with all my camera gear while on a photography job. Quickly threw a tube in and went about my day, only to pinch flat the tube I left in it the very next day.